If you are facing criminal charges you need to contact us – we will handle your case immediately and take the time to understand what occurred prior to the charges being lodged against you. We understand this is a stressful time, and we also understand that a criminal trial can have a long-lasting impact on your future.
Virginia has some of the strictest DUI/DWI laws in the country. While most states do not have mandatory license loss for a first-time conviction, if you are convicted in Virginia, you will lose your license for a minimum of 12 months. There is an option for a restricted license for work purposes but this will require an ignition interlocking device, a costly penalty. Virginia also has mandatory jail time depending on your blood alcohol content. Contact us to evaluate your case.
One of the most common drug crimes is possession of marijuana. While many states have legalized small amounts of marijuana for recreational use, Virginia is not one of those states. A guilty finding could result in up to a year in jail as well as a fine of up to $500; if you are facing a drug charge, even it appears to be a minor possession charge, we will represent you aggressively to prevent a guilty finding. Virginia has mandatory time for those convicted of selling narcotics depending on the drug, the amount of the drug, and prior convictions. Contact us today to discuss the specifics of your case.
Assault and Other Violent Crimes
Simple assault does not mean you have laid hands on another person; merely that you have threatened someone with bodily harm. Even this action can result in criminal charges being lodged against you and if you are convicted you could pay a fine of up to $2,500 and if this is not your first offense, you could also be facing jail time. Other violent crimes like battery, domestic violence, or malicious wounding could result in you facing a felony charge, mandatory jail time, and losing your rights to own a firearm. Never take these charges lightly; contact us today to protect your rights and defend you vigorously.
Typically, if you are convicted of a crime for the first time, it may be possible to get your sentence suspended and receive probation instead of spending time in jail. Probation means you are under the supervision of the state and must abide by the conditions placed on you by the Court and/or your probation officer. Any violation of the terms of your probation could mean you will need to serve any sentence that was associated with the original conviction. If you have been accused of violating any term of probation, our firm will be prepared to fight back against the prosecutor.
Theft and Property Crimes
Shoplifting, credit card crimes, arson, larceny by check, vandalism, destruction of property: these crimes are generally classified as either theft crimes or property crimes under Virginia statutes. The severity of the crime, the dollar amount of property that is stolen or damaged, and whether the accused has a prior record will determine whether you are facing a misdemeanor or felony charge. Regardless of whether this is your first charge or you have previously been convicted of a crime, it is imperative you contact us to defend you against these charges.
Anytime you are facing charges in Virginia, you are putting your future at risk. You could be facing a steep fine, jail or prison time, probation, loss of your license or right to carry a firearm. When you work with a criminal defense attorney, you want an attorney who will give you the personal attention you deserve. Contact The Law Firm of Diane P. Toscano to schedule a free consultation.